Career Advice… One Step Forward

October 25, 2011 — 1 Comment

This week I had one of my team members decide to move on to another company. While I supported and encouraged him to move on, I always analyze why people leave. There were two factors in this case. 1. He could not stand his supervisor – which was becoming a cancer to his work performance. 2. He felt he deserved more $.

I find it fascinating when people think they can perform at a C level and think they deserve more $. The thinking is simple, “I’m demotivated because I’m underpaid.” The faultiness of this argument is simple. You’re asking me to give you a pay raise based on average performance? Really?! So of course he didn’t get the “deserved” pay raise.

What was more concerning is the dislike for his supervisor was so strong that he allowed it to become a cancer to his attitude. This is career suicide. Why followers allow people over to have this much influence over their lives? We all have a choice and decide how we react to others. We cannot control what others do or say, but we can control how we react.

The real career killer mistake this employee made was he was so focused on his dislike, he pursued and accepted a job that had significantly reduced responsibility for a little more money. During my review of resumes, I always look for instances of people moving backward in their career. While it may not be a showstopper, it makes it easier to use that as the reason to screen them out. There’s always a reason for these things – sometimes valid – and why bother when there’s 50 other candidates without such a blemish?

Before cutting bait on your current job for another position that is a step backward, make sure you think through how someone will view it later on down the road.

What steps do you need to take to ensure you’re well positioned for your next job?

One response to Career Advice… One Step Forward

  1. 
    Sonnie Hendricks October 26, 2011 at 9:59 am

    I lived this for a few months, along time ago. Everyone at work was dissatisfied, pretty soon I was expressing their feelings for myself. Then I hear this voice say “WHAT IS THE DIFFERENC IN YOUR JOB TO DAY THAN WHEN YOU FIRST STARTED?” I had to say, “NOTHING BUT THE PEOPLES FACES“. It took me about two and a half weeks to get back to the feeling of why I took the job in the first place. The job became just as much fun as when it was new and exciting.

Leave a Reply

