27 Years In The Making…

November 4, 2010 — 1 Comment

A little over a year ago, Sheri and I approached our Pastor Robey Barnes with what we felt God was leading us to do. Serve on the Missions Team at West Pines Community Church. I recall saying to Robey, “I have no idea what it means, but God has placed this on both our hearts.” Robey’s response was, “Oh I do. Let me get back to you.” This was months before GCA had found property in Mirebalias and before West Pines was even thinking about Haiti. Or the earthquake in Haiti. I’ve blogged extensively about our Haiti efforts since this time.

Today a new request…

I was approached by the Little Haiti Optimist club in Miami to present at Edison High School’s Career Day.I am honored and humbled that God has brought me to this point at this time. How I got here was by design, not random chance…

28 years ago, I was a senior in high school in a small California town. We had 230 people in my graduating class. Here I am today, in one of the roughest neighborhoods in America to talk about my career, what I do, and what it took to get here. That’s 28 years of stories. Each event leading to the next thing. All to delivery me here today.

I pray I’m ready to share my story with these young men and women in such a way that it makes a difference.

Who knew, in June 1983 or even in Sept 2009, I would be making this presentation? God knew…

One response to 27 Years In The Making…

  1. 

    Steve,

    I am so thrilled for you that God has given you this opportunity. It’s just wonderful to see God’d hand in all of these details. I am so thankful for you and Sheri and for your service to West Pines Community Church.

Leave a Reply

