My Girlfriend…

July 29, 2010 — 3 Comments

Yes, I have a girlfriend. She’s the most wonderful woman I have ever met. She makes me feel special, doesn’t nag me, and lets me smell her hair (without a funny look). I truly enjoy getting away with her – we don’t get to often enough.

Before you freak out and start txting my wife…

it so happens that my wife is my girlfriend. Last week, we went to Key West for a boyfriend/girlfriend 3 day getaway. The husband and wife stayed home. We did not bring laptops and did not turn on a TV for 3 days. We focused on us. We ate too much, drank too much, slept too much, and spent too much.  Even though my waste grew and wallet shrunk – it was worth it!

Guys, you need to date your wife. Wives you need to date your husband. Without dating, over the years you grow apart. This is why there’s high divorce rates after the kids leave home. You have two people who were once in love that don’t know each other any longer and have nothing left in common. If this is you (or you see it coming), do something about it. Start over. It’s never too late. He’s the same guy and she’s the same girl that you fell in love with years ago. Alone/down time allows you to remember this.

Dating doesn’t have to cost money. In fact, the less you spend, the more she’ll appreciate the effort. But you have to make the effort. Arrange the babysitter, make a reservation, and don’t tell her. If you need help, her girlfriends will gladly chip in. I promise!

When’s the last time you took your wife on a real date? What are you waiting for?  NO EXCUSES…

3 responses to My Girlfriend…

  1. 

    As your “girlfriend”, I am deeply touched – I love that I still have an incredible boyfriend, and more importantly best friend, as well. Trust me, husbands and wives, from the other side – run after this quality in your relationships with everything you have – it is sooo worth it!

  2. 

    Right on man…….I couldn’t agree more. Then when you have grandchildren, you need to make yourself available for weekend babysitting so your son or daughter can do the same with their spouse.

Leave a Reply

