Not knowing what you cannot do…

July 16, 2010 — 3 Comments

The recent story about The Barefoot Bandit sort of, in a weird way, inspired me. Not for the people who were hurt by him steeling and breaking into businesses and homes along the way, but instead because he just never accepted what he couldn’t do. To steal an airplane and fly across open ocean to an island and land it – all without any training – is an amazing feat. He just didn’t know what he couldn’t do.

I feel the same way by starting Luminosity Global Consulting Group this year. There are a lot of folks who think we’ve lost our minds. You’re starting a business now, with no bank backing, with no credit for businesses to buy your services, etc. We’ve listened. The fact is, we don’t know we cannot be successful. Others may “know”, but we don’t.

When I reflect on our lives together (over 22 years now), Sheri and I have never accepted what others think cannot be done.  We make a decision and keep moving. That’s what we do. It’s who we are. God recognizes this in us, brought us together, and gives us opportunity to do what cannot be done.

How about you? What are you waiting for? Do what cannot be done. You may be surprised to find you actually can do it.

3 responses to Not knowing what you cannot do…

  1. 

    I’m doing it Steve. What He asks me to do, I can do. Your post encouraged me. I’m on the right track and I’m going for it!

  2. 

    You can get a glimpse of what I’m up to at my site – click Meet Colleen. I’m following you on twitter, and yes I’m running the race with you!

Leave a Reply

