Smart Sayings #1 – “Pray for a Stronger Back”

April 8, 2010 — Leave a comment

“Do not pray for a lighter load, but for a stronger back.” Phillips Brooks

If you’ve read My Life Manifesto, you’ll know I’ve quoted Brooks before. I like his phraseology on some things.

I have a busy schedule. There are days, weeks and months when I get tired (this week is one of them). When I get down, I rarely ask God to take the burden. I’m not sure why…that never really came to mind. But I do pray for strength. God can make us stronger than our own natural abilities – the rules of nature don’t apply when you invented nature.

When things get tough, don’t back down, don’t stay home, pray for God to, as Brooks put it, “give you a stronger back.”

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

