The Father that Leads

January 21, 2010 — Leave a comment

What is a father that leads?

We all know them, but what makes them so different from the rest of us? “Them” are the great dads of the world. Great dads lead their families. They do not sit back and let life go by or stay uninvolved in their family.

They’re there for the kids, their wives, their church, their neighbor, their jobs, their friends. But how do they do it? Selfless service to others. By being focused on the important things, we find that the “other stuff” that use to seem important no longer matters. See me recent post on the things I don’t do.

Right now, I get to the chance to serve my daughter by coaching her soccer team. I don’t have the time. I have a business to run, a job to do, a church to serve, the Haiti crisis, I need a raise, new carblah blah blah. There’s little that is more important than the growth of my daughter into a well-rounded mature young woman. The only things more important are God and my marriage (in that order). So for the next few months I get to spend Tuesday and Thursday nights and Saturday mornings at the soccer fields trying to herd cats (aka 11-12 year old girls).

Guys, you may not be able to coach your kid’s soccer team. Trust me, I know. But you can attend games rooting them on! You can talk about practice during dinner. You can help the coach out by making a drink schedule. The point is get involved. Lead by example.

Be the man you want your daughter to marry – because she will.

Be the man you want your son to become – because he will.

You only get a few years to build your legacy through your children. Make them count.

Are you a father that leads? If not, what do you need to do to become that man? It’s your choice. Chose wisely.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

